Are You Sharing Too Much? A Privacy Settings Guide

Are You Sharing Too Much? A Privacy Settings Guide

In the world of social networking, sharing is the name of the game. Studies such as the one in this article show that people are using social media more than ever. As this sharing trend continues to rise, double checking your security is more important than ever. To get you started, let’s check out two of the most popular sites available.

First up, Facebook. You can navigate to your settings through this link directly. Or, if you’re using a computer, navigate to the drop-down menu in the top right, and click settings. From there we are focusing on two tabs. Security and Privacy.

The Security tab mainly functions as a way to protect your account from outside access. You can get notifications when someone other than you tries to login to your account, add an authorization code as a second layer of security, or even set different passwords for mobile logins. It is also important to check the Recognized Devices and Where You’re Logged In settings, as these can show you other people that may have access to your account already. It’s common to borrow someones computer or phone to check your Facebook and forget to logout, or even accidentally save your login information to their device.

The Privacy tab is very straightforward, and is used mainly to control who can view your profile, posts, and private information. If you don’t want random people finding your phone number on Facebook, hide it here!

Next up, Twitter. Access your settings with this link directly. Also, on desktop, you can click your profile image in the top right of the page, and navigate to settings from there. We’ll be looking at the Account tab, as well as the Privacy and Safety tab.

The Account tab is similar to the Facebook Security tab. You can add a phone number to your security settings here, allowing you to manually confirm every time a new login is attempted on your account. Even if your password is hacked, this allows you to stop attempts to login. You may also setup a more detailed password reset feature, which prevents other people from resetting your password without answering security questions that only you would know.

The Privacy and Safety tab follows the same function as Facebook’s Privacy settings. Here is where you will limit to what information and posts other Twitter users can access. You can prevent anyone from seeing your Twitter feed who you haven’t approved, set photo tagging and location settings, as well as adjusting messaging privacy.

Remember, preventing unauthorized access to your account is always the first and best strategy to stopping unwanted events. Whenever you sign up for a new website, take just a few minutes to review your security settings. Doing this saves hours of potential headaches in the future!